Texas Now Has the Points System
All New Taxes Based on Your Driving Record!!!
The Texas Transportation Code has a new Chapter
following the 2003 Legislature in Austin. Chapter 708 of the Transportation Code
is titled the "Driver Responsibility Program." You and your family will
all notice these new taxes based on your driving record in the coming years. The
Legislature refers to these new TAXES as SURCHARGES.
CHAPTER 708, SUBCHAPTER B. SEC. 708.052.
POINTS FOR CERTAIN CONVICTIONS.
(a) The driver's
license of a person accumulates a point under this subchapter as of the date the department records a conviction of the person
under Section 521.042 or other applicable law.
(b) For each conviction
arising out of a separate transaction, the department shall assign points to a person's license as follows:
(1) two points for a moving violation of the traffic
law of this state or another state that is not described by Subdivision (2); and
(2) three points for a moving violation of the traffic
law of this state, another state, or a political subdivision of this or another state that resulted in an accident.
SEC. 708.053. ANNUAL SURCHARGE FOR POINTS.
Each year, the department shall assess a surcharge on the license of a person
who has accumulated six or more points under this subchapter during the preceding 36-month period.
SEC. 708.054. SURGHARGE. The amount of a surcharge under this chapter is
$100 for the first six points and $25 for each additional point.
And the surcharge is paid each year for three
years!!! And if you dont pay the surcharge, the Department of Public Safety will
automatically suspend your drivers license.
If you receive a single conviction of Driving While License Suspended or No Financial Responsibility
(i.e. No Auto Liability Insurance), points dont matter; you owe a surcharge of $250 per year for three years. Driving with No Valid Operators License (No TDL) will also result in a surcharge of $100 per year
for three years.